Featured Stylist: April B. (Atlanta)

19 Jul

April writes:

My name is April B. I’m a loctician and natural hair artist. I’m currently working in Atlanta’s  premier luxury salon The Glambar.   I attended the Virginia School of Hair Design and graduated ahead of my class.  I learned valuable information & training there.  During my school years I realized that society implies that we should have chemically processed hair in order to have a certain look or appeal to the masses.  It implies that if “our” hair is straight then we’ll have a better chance of succeeding or getting a promoted within the workplace. I began to get tired of living within those standards.  So I then began to look deep into my soul and realized what makes me; me. I developed a love for natural hair when I became a mother.  Starting when my oldest daughter was just 2 months old, I began to braid her hair.  She had so much of it and I didn’t want it to just sit on the top of her hair.  As she grew, her hair grew, as it grew my skills grew.  That is how I developed my braiding skills and became a braider.

Then I came to the conclusion that I needed a transition in my life, so I decided to cut all of my hair off from shoulder length to nothing almost and began to loc my hair.  From then on it was my mission to keep the world “kinky” as possible “fresh from the roots”.

My goal is to educate every client on the proper up keep of their hair.  Many say that I have a GROWING HAND and it shows.  I love to give consultations to find out more about my client and what their needs are.  Too often one will go to a stylist wanting a particular service not necessarily knowing whether that service is healthy for their hair. I’ve seen too many stylists who do whatever to the patrons head without educating the client.  They’re more concerned about their wallets rather the health of the client. NOT ME!!! If I know that a particular style or process is unhealhthy, I will not do it.  Simply because I know the long term effects that they are unsafe hair practices. I will offer you a suitable solution and options for you to achieve the styling that you want. Something that will compliment your facial features  as well as what will coincide with your personality; making you feel better about you!

Learn more about April B. on her website. See it HERE .

11 Responses to “Featured Stylist: April B. (Atlanta)”

  1. bellybella July 19, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    April b from atlanta …. thank you so much girl ! For not caring more about the wallet than the client. I have never had a hair stylist that actually CARED about my hair . Even to the point that i had to stop going and learn to treat my own hair .

    • Celebritystylist Aprilb July 20, 2011 at 1:06 am #

      Thank you Bellybella. There’s not too many that actually care. Just know that I’m a client of someone’s business and I have to put myself in others shoes. 🙂

  2. Lola July 19, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    Great post! We need more stylists like you, April. How about I used to get my nails done at the Virginia School of Hair Design wayyyy back in the day. Small world;)

    • Celebritystylist Aprilb July 20, 2011 at 1:08 am #

      Thanks Lola! It is a small world. How long ago was this? I graduated from there in 98.

  3. zainab1 July 19, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    Beautiful!…..The hair beautiful as well. I loove loc’s I am currently considering locing myself. Great post!..Thanks so much for sharing:))

    Take care,

    zainab1
    AuNaturale007.blogspot.com

    zainab’s vintage & more-
    http://shop.ebay.com/abdul3529/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=25

    • Celebritystylist Aprilb July 20, 2011 at 1:11 am #

      Yes lock it up! I love my locs. They’re so versatile. Thank you so much for commenting.

  4. Naturalezablog July 19, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    The loc styles are off the hook! Beautiful!

  5. Carolyn Kapricornkitti Thomas July 24, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    You are amazing!!!!! I love how your visions really show in your styles….you are one creative Sista!!!!!!

  6. deethestylist July 24, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    greetings my sister, the 4th picture down, is those locs or synthetic style? if they are locs was that done with a tool?? beautiful work my sistah

  7. Yolanda Robinson July 30, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    Mrs. April you are truly a GOD scent, I can tell from reading your review. Many women don’t want to hear the truth but will find out later in life GOD was trying to tell them something, I know I’ve been there. Now 3 years natural I love my Au Natural hair my only regret is I wish I had met you before I moved back home(I was in Buckhead for 2 1/2 years). I will return to visit Atlanta & will make it my business to look you up. Stay strong to your belief my sister, much love & blessings.

Leave a Reply

